Help. Can't get to openhab

New to Openhab…
Trying to install on a UBUNTU 18.04 LTS server and I can’t seem to be able to open the council using [ipaddrr]:8080 from my pc that i can SSH into the server from.

I have been using the openhabian install and spent hours this weekend trying to get it and no luck. Yes I did install zulu vs 8 (32bit) Java.

I am now wondering if i need to do a manual install as my server is not named openhab and there isn’t a user named openhab (even after openhabian install).

I am new to UBUNTU (but used to do a lot of linux a long time ago) so I am not afraid to get my hands dirty. I plan on running a number of services from this server as I had a spare desktop laying around collecting dust that I thought could be put to good use as apposed to purchasing a pi.

Any assistance is greatly appreciated!

if you can SSH, in a terminal try:

sudo systemctl status openhab2

to see if OpenHAB is running

Did you follow the manual instructions for openHABian? Clone the repo, run openhabian-config, and go through the menu options. NOTE: openhabian-config will install the correct Java for you.

When you use the manual install, it does not change the hostname. If you are on an RPi and use the SD card image install method, it names the machine openhabianpi.

openhab2.service - openHAB 2 - empowering the smart home
Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/openhab2.service; enabled; vendor pre
Active: activating (auto-restart) (Result: exit-code) since Mon 2019-04-15 18
Docs:
Process: 16703 ExecStart=/usr/share/openhab2/runtime/bin/karaf $OPENHAB_STARTM
Main PID: 16703 (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)

Apr 15 18:34:34 oberon systemd[1]: openhab2.service: Main process exited, code=e
Apr 15 18:34:34 oberon systemd[1]: openhab2.service: Failed with result 'exit-co
lines 1-10/10 (END)
● openhab2.service - openHAB 2 - empowering the smart home
Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/openhab2.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)