Help setting up OwnTracks, Mosquitto, and MQTT

Hello everyone. I am new to home automation and openHAB but cannot figure out how to wire everything up and make it work. I have read countless articles from Google searches, I have searched the community here and every example I have tried does not cause the Switch to flip.

Here is what I have so far

• I have OwnTracks installed on my phone.
  • I have mosquitto installed on a server that is seperate from openHAB.
  • I see the phone connect and disconnect from the mosquitto server
  • I see openHAB connect and disconnect from the mosquitto server
  • I can use the _sub and _pub apps and send messages back and forth through a topic

I have tried wiring up the topic to a String in openHAB but it errors out saying it must be a Switch.

From here, I do not understand the binding setting nor do I understand the difference between using Regions and Home.
Here is what I have in my configs

Sitemap
Switch item=MY_PHONE icon=“present” valuecolor=[ON=“green”,OFF=“red”]

Items
Switch MY_PHONE “My Phone” {mqttitude=“mqttbroker:owntracks/jbyrd/5s/event:ByrdHome”}

openhab.cfg
MQTT Transport
mqtt:mqttbroker.url=tcp://myurl:4383
mqtt:mqttbroker.clientId=openhab

I do not have anything in the Mqttitude Binding. I have read conflicting information about having these values populated.

I do have a a Region set up in OwnTracks with a radius of 1 meter. When I walk around the block, no events fire that I can see anywhere. I do have the region shared.

I have compared the topic that shows in OwnTrack and I have it matching what I have put in openHAB.

At this point, I have no idea what to try.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Only thing I can think of is does the name of the region in your phone app match ByrdHome in your item binding?

It does match. I did have it called just home but read that was not good since home was reserved.

Do I need to fill out the mqttitude binding for Lat/Lon in the config file?