Help with Google Assistant/Home

Hi. I am new to openhab and I have it all setup and running well in a docker on linux. I have all my devices setup including zwave locks and myopenhab.

I am now trying to get my locks into Google Assistant. From what I have read, you need .item files but since I have only ever used paperui, I dont seem to have these. For right now i just want to add the two zwave locks. What is the best way to go about this? Currently when linking openhab to Google Assistant I am seeing just some of my items but they are all named “Brightness” or “Color”

Any guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks,
B

Hi Bill, and welcome!

If you haven’t yet gotten into using .items files, then I think you’re probably getting a bit ahead of yourself. It’s time well spent learning about them, as they offer a lot more flexibility than PaperUI.

You can add items to Google Assistant via REST, but I don’t personally know how to do that.

Have you gone through the new user tutorial that takes you through items, basic rules, and sitemaps? If not, that’s where I recommend starting. It doesn’t take long, and will enable you to better understand what you’re reading when you search for examples in the community.

Once you understand .items files, it’ll be really easy to see how to tell openHAB to expose your items to Google Assistant.

There are two ways to do this now that the Google Assistant integration is based on Item metadata, a hard way and an easy way. As Russ indicates, the hard way is the REST API. The easy way is .items files.

Harder Way: REST API

1. Install the REST API Docs from the Misc tab in PaperUI
  2. Assuming your lock is represented as a Switch Item named “Lock”

NOTE: I’m kind of guessing how this works here. I might not have the curly brackets right and there might need to be some square brackets:

{ "value": "Lock", "config": { ["tfaAck": true] } }