Help with rules - method undefined? <solved>

I’m yet another SmartThings refugee who is looking for something better. I’ve got a working OH2 beta running on an RPi3 and am loving it. It’s definitely more work to get everything set up, but the stability and flexibility is just amazing.

I’m not an experienced programmer and only know how to code in bits and pieces, and never with Java. I’m trying to write a basic rule that plays a sound on system startup and every minute. I thought maybe I needed to import a library, but I read that OH2 doesn’t need that and the editor suggested removing the import statement I tried. I’m sure there’s a simple answer, but I’m not sure where to look - I’ve looked around quite a bit.

My code:

rule "Test notification"
	when
		System started or
	    	Time cron "* * * * * ?"
	then
		playSound("doorbell.mp3")
end 

Error text in Eclipse editor:

`The method playSound(String) is undefined`

Here is the error in my log:

`03:49:00.010 [ERROR] [ntime.internal.engine.ExecuteRuleJob] - Error during the execution of rule Test speech: An error occured during the script execution: Could not invoke method: org.eclipse.smarthome.model.script.actions.Audio.playSound(java.lang.String) on instance: null`

Unfortunately I’m not going to be of much help with your actual problem.

NOTE: The rules are not Java. They are a Domain Specific Language that bears the most resemblance to the Xtend programming language. You will not find a whole lot of help looking only at Java language resources.

This will execute the rule every second. You want “0 * * * * ?”

I’m not any help with the playSound problem though.

Thanks for your response!

Thanks, I figured that anyways since the syntax appears to be OH specific, but that’s good to know.

Yeah, I wrote the cron bit too quickly - I was shooting for once a minute. Thanks for setting me straight. :slight_smile:

Anyways, here is where I’ve come with my understanding of rules:

rule "Test rule 2"
	when