Hosting UIs on different machine

Hello,

I am thinking of the possibility of hosting UIs on a different machine than the one Openhab runs on. Some benefits that came to my mind when using this approach are:
1- Fewer resources are needed on the device running Openhab (RPi3 B+ will be happier with this)
2- When accessing the devices remotely, it will be faster to serve the UIs from the remote server. Usually, the home internet has limited upload bandwidth, so serving the UIs from the server while only connecting to the devices using Rest or Websocket will use much less bandwidth.

I’ve been trying to figure out how the UIs communicate with Openhab instance to try to implement this idea, but I still can’t figure out. I am not good at frontend stuff.

Please let me know what you think about this idea,
Thanks.

My understanding is that the UIs just use the REST API to interface with OpenHAB so it should be theoretically possible.

All the UIs installed are available from openhabURL:8080
openHAB is designed to run headless

The question is, which component handles the communication to and from the UIs?
Is it implemented in the java code, or in the web app?

The answer will help in deciding whether running the UIs in a standalone environment is possible without much re-implementation.

The REST api

I do not understand the question. I thought you were referring to arperUI, Basic UI, HABmin, & HABPanel which are likely implemented in Java to perform web calls. They are features of OpenHAB, but not “apps”

I think the mobile apps make their own web calls to OpenHAB and are never hosted on the OenHAB server

Yes you understand right, I am talking about the web UIs (Paper UI, Basic UI, etc)
By web app I mean the (html, js) part.

If you take a look at the source code of any UI, you will find a similar implementation. There are some java classes, and there is a web directory which contains the html, css, and js

I am trying to trace where the actual communication happen.