Hot then cold then hot now cold with OH

I regard myself as a fairly technical hobbyist. I’m an electronics engineer but not daunted by programming. I’m not trained but can passingly learn most languages to get things done although I’ll never win awards for coding.

Over the past 5 years I’ve been into-outof-into and currently outof OH. I admire its goals, architecture and adoption but it hasn’t been friendly for me. I feel I’m regarded as one of the encumbrances drawn in and then disparingly supported, or dismissed by the inner circle. I’ve had some helpful but mostly dismissive support and I don’t think I’ll ever be up to the contributory level as I’ve seen some better, arduous and well intentioned peoples journey result in frustration and abandonment. All in all perhaps it’s a little conceptually beyond me and so I struggle to feel comfortable.

Why am I posting this ? Because I like the technical quality and adherence of OH to standards but I’m not on board now and quite honestly I’m enjoying the alternatives, contributing and getting supportive feedback. I feel OH is at a pivotal moment, especially with the 2.5 changes and questionable forward stability and compatibility.

However for me OH increasingly comes over as elitist and I’m not in that club, or wish to be, I want it to be evolving, feature leading, liked, friendly and adopted and to feel comfortable with it as one of my possible choices, but I don’t and I just wanted to let you know…

K

What makes you feel that OH is „elitist“? And where did you get dismissive support?

1 Like

I took a look at your activity from the last six month and could not find any related posts to your complaint.

@J-N-K, @sihui, based on a close reading of @xAPPO’s post, I believe he is referring to contributing to the code and not support he has received here on the forum.