How to get topic of MQTT

Hello,

i’m using openHAB2.
and, I have a question using MQTT binding.

I have an item that subscribes to all topic with MQTT binding.
Therefore, this item can subscribe the data that published to multiple topics.

I know that header of MQTT protocol contains topic information.

So, how to get a topic information from openHAB2? not payload.

for example,

String exam "[%s]" {mqtt = "<[mqtt:#:state:default]"}

this item subscribes to all topics.

Suppose the topic “/openHAB2/topics” publish data.
Is there a way to get information on the topic “/openHAB2/topics” in openHAB2?

1 Like

Nope, not possible I am afraid.
What are you trying to do?

Omg…

I want subscribe as above.

When published through several topics, rule tries to update multiple items according to the topic.

exam)
“/openHAB2/A” is update item A
“/openHAB2/B” is update item B.

What are you trying to accomplish, at a higher level. What is doing the publishing? Why do you think this approach is easier than configuring each Item to subscribe to their topic individually and not need a Rule? Are you aware of the MQTT Eventbus? Assuming you have control over the topics, this may already be something built in without your need to write a Rule.

Sorry for the delay in my replying.

My team is trying to use mqtt in the above way. So I asked the above question…

Sadly I don’t know about mqtt-eventbus. I saw the document, but I didn’t understand it. What role does mqeventbus.cfg play? Can topic information be extracted through this setting?

Any my question is why? There may be a better way to accomplish the same thing without needing to extract the topic, which is impossible.