How to poll state without overwriting actions in rules?

Hi,
I’m new to code my own rules, so please forgive me if I ask something obvious. I recently installed a Easee Home charger, it has a nice cloud based REST API which I’m trying to use for controlling the charger. Basically I’d like to start/stop charging from HomeKit, and also display information such as charging output, total kWh etc.
What I have done is:
(1) A rule that keeps polling the latest state from the charger, it polls every 30 seconds.
(2) A rule the reacts to a dimmer (switch) when I turn on, it sends the command to start charging, when I turn off it sends the command to stop charging.
The problem I’m experiencing now is sometimes, rule (1) kicks in before rule (2) completes the action. So I have the below scenario:

• I turn on the charger from OpenHAB GUI
  • The action triggers rule (2) to send a command to start charging
  • The command above is async (to make it responsive in HomeKit).
  • Before or just after the charger takes the command and handshake with the car, the polling kicks in and overwrites the switch to off
  • Now it triggers a command to stop charging.

The issue is caused by rule (1) and (2) are disconnected, when rule (1) polls the value it’s not aware maybe an action is being performed by rule (2). And given the REST API and handshake process it takes 10-20 seconds for the action to complete. A possible solution would be to ignore any change to the switch for X seconds after an action is performed, this requires a global variable to record the lastes timestamp when the action was performed. I’m not sure how this can be implemented as OH rules, can somebody give me a hand? Any suggestion is appreciated!

Can we go back a step, why is your polling routine destructive?

Can you insert your “command” into the poll activity, and cause a “hurry up” poll reschedule?