[SOLVED] How to split a string in a rule

Hi. I’m new to openhab. I have configured an MQTT feed from my emonpi to openhab and got it working OK.
What my item is returned, is a string of values like “2307,28,0,2253,241.22,300,300,300,300,300,300,1”.
I want to be able to pick out one of the values and display just that value (eg. 2253).
I was trying to do that in a rule with a string array and toString.split(",") - that seems to work OK but when I reference one of the array variables (array[0]) it says it is NULL.
Can anyone tell me how to get this to work (or perhaps a better way to achieve the same result)?

Thanks.

You could use a JavaScript transform in the MQTT binding string so the item it is bound to gets the substring directly without needing a rule. Consider the item definition:

Number SomeNumberItem "Value [%d]" { mqtt="<[broker:/my/topic:state:JS(get3rdcolumn.js)]" }

transform/get3rdcolumn.js:

(function(csv) { 
  var arr = csv.split(",");
  return arr[2];
})(input);

If the CSV string is formatted correctly, and the 3rd (at index 2) element is a valid number, the above should update the item correctly. Under OH2, make sure you have the JavaScript transformation service installed.

@watou’s solution is the best one. But to answer the direct question, you can split a String using the split method as you describe, but the Rules DSL (based on Xtend) doesn’t support array syntax. So instead of using array[0] you need to use array.get(0).

Thanks @watou and @rlkoshak for the replies.
I have the JS version working great but one more question if I may.
I have three different items which get data from the same MQTT topic. The first wants array item 0, the second wants array item 3 and the third wants array item 4.