Http Binding - Add SPNEGO Authentication (Kerberos - NTLM) to binding

Hello Community,

I started using the HTTP binding to get some date from API endpoints. I recognized that there are only some real basic authentication methods. This is what I want to change here.

I’m pretty new to java and this is my chance to dig into authentication topics.

However, I already added some code for SPNGO Authentication to my fork, but it’s not functioning. Github Fork - Feature SPNEGO Auth

I used this information for help: SPNEGOAuthenticationTest.java

The error message from the log which occurring is:

[WARN ] [tp.internal.http.HttpResponseListener] - Requesting ‘http ://cronus:7048/BC/ODataV4/Company(‘CRONUS%20International%20Ltd.’)/SalesOrder’ (method=‘GET’, content=‘null’) failed: java.lang.RuntimeException: javax.security.auth.login.LoginException: KrbException: Cannot locate default realm

With Postman, the request is working based on NTLM Auth.

Could anybody have a look and help me find my mistake.

I’m using a Business Central container on my local system for the Odata API endpoint. But I think it could be any other Endpoint based on a NTLM authentication.

Short PS script to create their own Windows container. (BcContainerHelper is required)

$containerName = 'cronus'
$credential = Get-Credential -Message 'Using Windows authentication. Please enter your Windows credentials for the host computer.'
$auth = 'Windows'
$artifactUrl = Get-BcArtifactUrl -type 'OnPrem' -version '20.2.0.0' -country 'w1' -select 'Closest'
$licenseFile = 'C:\BC-licence.flf'
New-BcContainer `
    -accept_eula `
    -containerName $containerName `
    -credential $credential `
    -auth $auth `
    -artifactUrl $artifactUrl `
    -licenseFile $licenseFile `
    -includeAL `
    -updateHosts

After container is ready

Enter-BcContainer cronus
Set-NAVServerConfiguration BC -KeyName ServicesUseNTLMAuthentication -KeyValue true
Restart-NAVServerInstance BC