Influxdb Null values between datapoint changes

hey folks,

I am pretty new to openhab so I am sorry if this question was already asked.
At least I couldn’t find any existing topic for it. Maybe I used the wrong keywords.

Anyways… here is my problem.

I am using openhab 3.2.0 and installed influxdb as a persistance service and grafana to visulize the values.
All these services run in containers on my raspberry.

To setup the influxdb persistance I simply used the openhab web interface and configured the credentials, etc.

Now I got following behaviour:
I see every 15 seconds an empty entry to the influxdb. Values are only stored if it changed.

2022-01-16 08:27:45
2022-01-16 08:28:00
2022-01-16 08:28:15
2022-01-16 08:28:30      20.1
2022-01-16 08:28:45
2022-01-16 08:29:00
2022-01-16 08:29:15

Where do I find the settings for the persistance service? The UI offers only the basic configuration like user and host.

Would be nice to reduce the interval of the stored values and store them even they did not change.

Thanks for you help!

greetings
Rick

The docs offer some clues, what is persisted when - the “strategy” - is controlled by xxx.persist files (not editable from GUI yet)

Hey rossko,

Thanks for the link. I dig into it…
The folder is empty right now. So the persistence config from the UI is not stored there.
Is the config file as soon as it is present active or do I have to activate the config file somewhere?

That’s right. The absence of any influxdb.persist file is what invokes the default persist strategy. There is no existing file to edit your own, you must create from scratch.

Debatable. It certainly used to require a service restart to implement new xxx.persist changes in OH2. This may not be the same for all persistence services.

Separate to that, is whether adding/removing member Items to a Group is taken into account in-flight. Don’t know.

Ok….
Making some progress here.
I created the influxdb.persistent file and added it t the container