Internal 7.1 audio soundcard

Hi everyone,

I’m new to the openHAB community and I’m happy to take part to this adventure.
First question of beginner, I installed openHAB on a windows computer that has a 7.1 internal audio card. I managed to play a sound from OH but now I would like to be able to specify the precise output of my card.

For example :
playSound (“front_right_output”, “doorbell.mp3”)

Would anyone have a solution ?

Thank you infinitely for your help!
David

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: amd64 / 2Go Ram / Realtek soundcard
    • Java Runtime Environment: Java JRE 8 + JDK 8
    • openHAB version: 2.2.0

I don’t think that is possible, I am afraid

Would it be possible use something like Audacity to create spatialised 7.1 Wavs that only have the doorbell sound on the correct channel?

On this setting in the PaperUI you specify to use the system speaker. If you have configured your sound card as the system speaker and you can use audacity to create an mp3 to play on 7.1 system then please try it. I would like to know if it works.

From recollection, standard mp3 files only have stereo channels. I dont know if openhab would play the extended formats needed for 7.1 mp3.

Getting the spatialised sound file is the first step. Trying different formats to save it in that would be supported by openhab would be next!

Hi everybody,

Thank you for your opinion and advice.
I created a mp3 and a wav sound in 5.1. No problem to read with windows media player that spatially the sound correctly. On the other hand, it was impossible for me to read it via openHAB. What a pity !
The idea is good, I don’t know exactly where it blocks…

Could you play the wav from the command line?

When I play a wav sound (from the command line or from the ui), I have a larsen that occurs but no sound.

I may have misexplained. Can you play the sound from the windows cmd.exe prompt. If you can, you could initiate the sound via an exec call.