IO Error Max Cube [solved and many thanks]

Hello OpenHab enthousiasts,

I’m extremely new to openhab and just started to implement my OpenHab version of my house.

My final goal is using a RPi as control centre but at the moment I’m setting things up on my Windows PC.

I’ve succesfully implemented weather forecast (based upon Yahoo), integrated my security cam (based on Motion Pie), retrieved time / day from the internet and are trying to fully implement my Max! binding.

I’ve setup the max!cube binding and are able to change the setpoint, read the actual and set temperature, valve position, battery status, etc. So my communication with the cube is up and running.

However (else I wouldn’t be posting a question): I continue to get ‘IO error occurred while connecting to MAX! Cube lan gateway’ errors.

I tried: exclusive mode and non exclusive mode (maxcube:exclusive=true / false in the openhab.cfg file), changed the refresh interval to 1000 (in stead of the default 10000) (maxcube:refreshInterval=1000), didn’t change the maxRequestsPerConnection.

Offcourse I can post my .items and .sitemap files, but didn’t think this was usefull at the moment.

Any help is appreciated!

Cheers.

Hi,
the error you mentioned is logged on INFO level, right?
I can see the same whenever I change some temperature. The error is displayed because the binding currently doesn’t seem to know when the communication with the max!cube is finished. So it tries to read even though max!cube already closed the connection. The connection failure in this case should probably not be logged on INFO level, this is no actual issue with the communication.

So if everything works for you, it should be fine :smile:

Hi Dominic,

You are right (didn’t notice it before): the messages are on info level. However: they are often followed by a time out message. Then the connection is re-established.