Is openHAB always this fragile? JSONPath or any other transformation won't install

I’ve been running openhab for a couple of months and it’s getting to be more than a little frustrating. Out of the blue my zwave devices stopped actually connecting. They were stuck in request_inf according to hab admin. After 4 days of reboots, etc I decided to just re-install all of openhab because restores, updates, etc weren’t getting ANYWHERE AT ALL. Finally got that working yesterday and things seemed to be working. I accidentally deleted a rules file and went to redo it, which requires the JSONPath transformation. Now that won’t install. None of the transformations will. So I google it and see the suggestion to try and delete the cache and tmp directories. So I do that. Now NOTHING WORKS. EVERY add-on is now throwing exceptions left and right and none of the UIs work AT ALL. I didn’t update ANYTHING, I simply deleted the cache and tmp directories. So now I have to go try all of my backups and spend god knows how much time trying to get this to work. Is this normal? It seems everyone claims they run openhab with no issues, yet I seem to run into issues all the time. Am I the only one?

Anyone have any idea why none of the transformations will install anymore while I’m complaining?

What OH Version are you using?
What JAVA Framework is installed on your machine?
How did you install OH?

I think you might have problems due to incompatibilities with either the JAVA version or some missing dependencies on your system.

Im using OpenHAB2 2.4 Release
Java 1.8
Installed OpenHAB on my windows box following the instructions in the wiki.

Did u delete the folders tmp and cache or only the contents? You should not delete the folders themselves.