Is there a list of openhab cloudless hardware?

i am just starting out with openHAB. Are the hardware bindings only approved that are compliant with the cloudless ideal, or are there bindings for cloud dependent products too?

after watching this compelling video from Kai Kreuzer https://youtu.be/DYB20Y4jXnA about how openHAB is designed to help people design and build smart homes that are cloud connected, but not cloud dependent.

i was blown away that he had the same focus that i did when i first took the plunge into smart homes a couple of years ago when i researched the crud out of the phillips hue starter set and nest thermostat. i bought the phillips hue set and have been super happy. the internet can go down and it works just fine wirelessly on my home wifi.

the nest, at least at that time seemed disturbingly dependent on an internet connection to work correctly, if i remember correctly, but i have NOT bought that.

but if this is the vision of both me and Kai Kreuzer, just as important as the openHAB platform would be a list, that could be maintained by the community probably of recommended cloudless hardware.

certainly this topic has been covered somewhere else, but i have not found the answer in the community.

thanks for any thoughts.

1 Like

I am not aware that such a list exists, nor am I aware that such a requirement would exist. Quite a few devices can be run locally (although being cloud connectable), such as you already noticed with hue; Tradfri from Ikea and TPlink power switches is another example that comes to mind; some you have to configure (my most recent experience here is with Shelly bulbs) to be local only, others you have to flash (ITEAD devices) to break them out of the cloud.