Item value calc error

• Platform information:
    • RasPi4
    • Java Runtime Environment: Default OpenJDK11.0.11
    • openHAB version: 3.1.0M5

Im not an programming expert but usually I get some simple code together. In this case I dont understand why addition or sum of two Item values throws errors. Any advises from the community?

Triggers a rule on updated Item value.

triggers:
  - id: "1"
    configuration:
      itemName: KOSTALPLENTICOREPlus70withBattery_PVStr1Power
    type: core.ItemStateUpdateTrigger
conditions: []
actions:
  - inputs: {}
    id: "2"
    configuration:
      type: application/python
      script: >
        import time

from org.slf4j import LoggerFactory

PV1 = itemRegistry.getItem('KOSTALPLENTICOREPlus70withBattery_PVStr1Power').getState()

PV2 = itemRegistry.getItem('KOSTALPLENTICOREPlus70withBattery_PVStr2Power').getState()

PVPowerTotal = sum(PV1, PV2)

#PVPowerTotal = Math.round(PVPowerTotal)

#events.postUpdate('PVPower', PVPowerTotal)

LoggerFactory.getLogger("org.openhab.core.automation.examples").info("calculated PVPowerTotal " + str(PVPowerTotal) + "  PV1: " + str(PV1) + "   PV2: " + str(PV2) + "\n")
    type: script.ScriptAction```

LOG output
Script execution of rule with UID ‘5642357aaa’ failed: TypeError:
‘org.openhab.core.library.types.DecimalType’ object is not iterable in at line number 6

Whats wrong with

PV1 and PV2 are not numbers in any sense that Python can understand. They are Java Item Objects. No matter the language, to do math with the State of an Item, you have to pull that state, e.g. PV1.state. So far so good.

But that state is a Java Object too of either DecimalType or QuantityType. The Python sum() function only knows how to deal with Python numbers, not Java Objects. And even in Rules DSL or Java code one needs to do extra to do math with Number Item’s states, particularly if they carry a unit of measurement.