Items and Links and PaperUI for FritzBox

Hello,

Obviously, I am new to OpenHAB and I am having some problems to grasp the concepts / differences of Things, Channels, Links and where to confgure them.

Currently I am using OpenHAB 2.4.0 on ArchLinux. Following the tutorial, I have activated Item Linking -> Simple Mode (org.eclipse.smarthome.links).

I have added the Hue Binding, which worked great. It found a number of Things (the lamps) with some Channels (color, brightness) each. As Simple Mode is activated, the corresponding Items are created automatically (Linking). In the PaperUI -> Control I can control the Items. Everything perfect so far!

1. Is that conceptualization correct?
  2. Is there a way to get a list of automatically created Items to use them in a .items file? Or further configure them, such as setting Tags, Labels?

As a second device, I added and configured the fritzboxtr064 binding. However, even after successfull configuration, I don’t see anything new in my Inbox. Try to add Things manually, but “Inbox- > FritzboxTR064 Binding -> Choose Thing” is completely empty.

1. Is that because the Binding hasn’t been ported to OpenHab 2 and lacks the introspection features?

Ok, next step is that I copy the Item definitions from https://www.openhab.org/addons/bindings/fritzboxtr0641/. After I deleted some which are not applicable to my Fritz Box, I get stuff like that in the event.log file:

2019-08-20 16:36:14.645 [vent.ItemStateChangedEvent] - fboxWanTotalBytesSent changed from 3869042698 to 3869052110

So, I guess I have some working Items defined now. However, I expected them to show up in the PaperUI -> Control, but there is nothing.

1. What Items show up there and why the Items from the fritzboxtr0641 are not shown?

I am pretty sure that there is some misconceptions on my side for helping me understand OpenHAB!

I would say, yes!