JDBC peristence with empty database

Hi to everyone,
I’ve used all the proper guides inside the community to install openHAB2 as i am a beginner. I 've got the following questions and i want your help if it’s possible.

While i am using JDBC persistence what type of persistence i have to select in PaperUI? JDBC or MySQL?
Thus i am able to download my database but inside is empty.
Finally it’s not clear to me if i have to create an .items file, because so far i haven’t. I’ve edited my items from Habmin.
Please waiting for your answer, what i am doing wrong?

The JDBC persistence is not “the database” itself. Through JDBC, you can connect to different database servers. Possible backends are listed here:
http://docs.openhab.org/addons/persistence/jdbc/readme.html
If you use the JDBC binding, you have to select it as persistence service in paperUI regardless of the database backend.
You mentioned mySQL; if that is your database system of choice you might as well use the mysql persistence binding(which in my opinion is easier to set up).
Either way you will need to set up a database server and then you need to connect to it via a persistence binding.
As for creating an items file: You don’t have to do it; you can do it all via Habmin or paper UI. This is more a matter of personal taste. I like my Items in files i can edit. Others don’t. Of course they are wrong :wink:

1 Like

Hi Oli thanks for your quick reply!

Now it’s clear to me about JDBC persistence and items file.
I am using mySQL for my database system and i am using mysql persistence.
I 've got also jdbc.persist file and mysql, persist file to achieve the persist of my items. Also i have jdbc.cfg and mysql.cfg which contains the same code as jdbc.cfg. I am right?
I’ve setup my mysql database and i’ve installed mysql peristence in paperUI.