JSR223 Helper Libraries/ Jython Support Install Guide - openHAB 2.5 (WIP)

This is a guide on how to install the JSR223 Helper Libraries / Jython Support. This is based on https://openhab-scripters.github.io/openhab-helper-libraries/Getting%20Started/Installation.html I’m a noob so of course those instructions weren’t enough for me :slight_smile: I hope this helps others. This guide is for a Raspberry Pi 3 & 4, running openHABian, & openHAB 2.5.1-2 (Release Build)

Those in the “know”, please keep me honest!

Guide:

• I’ll update it based on any feedback or issues so you won’t have to read the entire post!

Install:

• Install “Rule Engine (Experimental)” Binding in PaperUI
  • Stop Openhab service: sudo systemctl stop openhab2
  • Download https://github.com/openhab-scripters/openhab-helper-libraries/archive/master.zip
    ** Copy /Core/. -> /etc/openhab2/ (Should end up with /etc/openhab2/automation/…) [https://openhab-scripters.github.io/openhab-helper-libraries/Getting%20Started/File%20Locations.html DirStructure]
    ** Copy: /Script Examples/Python/hello_world.py script -> /automation/jsr223/python/personal/
  • Delete: /etc/openhab2/automation/jsr223/groovy & javascript
  • Delete: /etc/openhab2/automation/lib/groovy & javascript
  • Rename: /etc/openhab2/automation/lib/python/configuration.py.example -> configuration.py
  • Rename: /etc/openhab2/automation/lib/python/personal/__init.py.example -> __init.py
  • Modify EXTRA_JAVA_OPTS: (line ~38, update existing line - )
    sudo nano /etc/default/openhab2
    EXTRA_JAVA_OPTS="-Xms250m -Xmx350m -Xbootclasspath/a:/etc/openhab2/automation/jython/jython-standalone-2.7.0.jar -Dpython.home=/etc/openhab2/automation/jython -Dpython.path=/etc/openhab2/automation/lib/python"
    [CTRL+O] [ENTER] [CTRL+X] (Save, Exit nano)
  • Download the standalone Jython 2.7.0 jar or Download
    ** Copy jython-standalone-2.7.0.jar -> /etc/openhab2/automation/jython/
  • Clear cache (just in case)