[SOLVED] JSR223 (JavaScript) development: How do I begin?

I apologize in advance for this generic and basic question. But I am lost and I don’t want to experiment on Eclipse installations for hours because with Eclipse being what it is this could get very cumbersome. :slight_smile:

Currently I’m using VSCode to write and maintain all my rules written in the Rules DSL. I’m familiar with Eclipse in general (I’m a Java developer by profession) but I have completely removed Eclipse from my openHAB workflow since the VSCode plugin got available. I have never used Eclipse to do actual openHAB (core / binding) development.

I am interested in migrating my rules to JSR223/JavaScript (because I’m very familiar with JavaScript and find the Rules DSL a bit limiting) and am wondering about how I should get started.

I have read:
Setting up an IDE for openHAB

And:
Install (Scripted Rule Support) in IDE

but am still not 100% sure how to start and what to do. I assume I need Eclipse because it provides syntax checking etc. This might be obious to most of you but with VSCode around I’m not 100% sure. So when I install Eclipse via the Installer (I’m on Mac OS), what package do I choose? This is probably also very obvious to many but I’m really not sure. Maybe I don’t need any of those?

Once Eclipse is installed - do I just open a .js file and am good to go? I assume not because of the part of ther IDE documentation that tells me to add the following libs:

org.eclipse.smarthome.automation.module.core
org.eclipse.smarthome.automation.api
org.eclipse.smarthome.automation.provider.file
org.eclipse.smarthome.automation.rest
org.eclipse.smarthome.automation.module.script.rulesupport
org.eclipse.smarthome.automation.module.timer
org.eclipse.smarthome.automation.providers
org.eclipse.smarthome.automation.parser.gson
org.eclipse.smarthome.automation.core
org.eclipse.smarthome.automation.module.script

Where do I have to add those?