KNX Binding installed on OpenHab2 but how to configure? (e.g. no knx.cfg available)

I installed openHABian on a raspberry 3 and everything went fine. Then in PaperUI I installed the KNX binding. According to guides and tutorials I should now have a knx.cfg in the services folder but this is not the case. How/where can I configure the KNX binding (e.g. knx.cfg, knx.things, knx.items, knx.sitemaps) as mentioned here: https://www.openhab.org/addons/bindings/knx/? Many thanks for any hints!

that link does not have any reference to knx.cfg, since it describing the configuration of the (new) KNX v2 Binding
The knx.cfg file is only used for the (old) KNX v1 Binding

Start with your knx.things to setup your stuff.

1 Like

Thanks @Dim, your post is really helpful! I’m totally new to all this… I read about the confusion the switch v1 vs v2 caused for old as well as new users as many of the guides/toturials etc. are based on the old version.

So I will start with defining knx.things and knx.items. I can do that in the Paper UI, although if this then creates a file in the corresponding directories on the file system I will likely edit these config files in a text editor. In the link it also mentions knx.sitemap. This is not a configuration option in Paper UI but there is a directory in /etc/openhab2 so I guess that is where that configuration goes.

1 Like

Correct. Sitemap files should be stored in the /etc/openhab2/sitemaps/ directory.
They should have the *.sitemap file extension and the name should be the same as the sitemap name. (eg. Home.sitemap should have: sitemap Home label="whatever" { ...}

Ref: https://www.openhab.org/docs/configuration/sitemaps.html

Correct also :slight_smile: most (if not all) info that you will find around is referring to KNXv1 binding. This will change gradually.

I recommend flat text files (eg. /etc/openhab2/things/knx.things)