Kwikset 916 w/Aeotec Z-Stick v5 on a Pi3+, problem with secure inclusion

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: CPUArchitecture/RAM/storage Pi3b+ Rev 1.3
    • OS: what OS is used and which version Raspbian GNU/Linux 10 (buster)
    • Java Runtime Environment: which java platform is used and what version
    • openHAB version: Openhab 2.5.7-1
  • Issue of the topic: I do not understand how to securely include my 916. I have installed the Z-Wave Binding 2.5.7. I am new to Openhab and Linux. I searched for inclusion instructions, which was to take the Z-Stick to the lock and press the button on the Z-Stick and them immediately press the “A” on the lock to start the inclusion process.

I thought this was successful, but the Item that was found was Node 2. Upon further research, I learned that Secure Inclusion is accomplished via Software. So, I did a factory reset both the Z-Stick and the 916, and uninstalled the Z Wave Binding and rebooted.

I went to PaperUI Configuration Add-Ons > Bindings and I installed binding-zwave - 2.5.7. I rebooted, and then went to the Inbox and select the “+”, I then chose the Z-Wave Binding and pressed the “A” on the 916.

Z-Wave Node 2, an Unknown Device is all that appears. I click the check mark, the dialog box states " You are about to add a new thing Z-Wave Node 002 (zwave:device:33c19c6e:node2) from the inbox". I do not proceed, because my expectation is that it should have been identified as a 916.

I did validate that Configuration > Things has a single entry, Z-Wave Serial Controller zwave.serial_zstick:33c19c6e, which shows it is online. So it appears the Z-Stick is working.

Back to the binding, I can not find the 916 listed under Supported Things, but I see other locks like the 914 listed. I have seen several post about adding the 916, but I have no idea what my next step should be. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Welcome.