Linking items to things not discovered?

Hello, I will try to explain my issue with OH3 (openhabian installation 1.6.2, Raspberry 3) with some items of my Homematic components. I have used openhabian with OH 2.5.4 before, all worked fine concerning the items I will mention below.
I have set up the installation with all bindings and discovered the CCU2 in the GUI. So far so good. The first thing I recognized is that it only discovered my temperature regulation programs (created in the CCU), not the individual devices (thermostats, window contacts, etc.) anymore as in 2.5.
Next I imported the items. I used the “developer tools” option for it to import the >400 items from my previously backed up item file.
All items appeared properly in the GUI with most of them having NULL as value. Now I tried to understand the concept of linking and I am really a beginner concerning this topic so maybe here is the part that I messed up (maybe I was reading the wrong part of the documentation). I looked up in “Items” for items that have a NULL value. Then I went to “Things” to open the according thing and opened the tab “Channels” to add the link to the item. That worked well and the items in “Item” section showed the new value instead of NULL. Not sure if this procedure was necessary as the *.items file contains the information about the channel but now it is done.

I have much more items than Things which brings me to the actual issue. I have some window/shutter contacts that have been discovered as part of the temperature regulation. However only some items of the contact are listed (e.g. state), not items like the battery state. The battery state is available in “Items” but I don’t have the according thing identified in the GUI. How can I make those things work? How to create Things for those Items to link them?