Linking through to old release...v1.5?

I’m slightly worried that it’s me, as I’m new to all this but…I was having a shitstorm of a time getting my openHAB2 to work with influxDB & Grafana, so decided to download new image/OS? (see - not even sure what to call it) and go through the installation notes step by step (yeah, I know, should have done this the first time). So, I go to downloads, select RPi, 2.5 stable is default, then a bit further down it shows install openHABian (recommended), and a large link to Github to a v1.5 page. It said this is now RPi4 ready, so I downloaded this. I now realise this really is an old release rather than a newly versioned RPi4 one. What is going on? Is it me? If so, please explain!

I’ve also struggled with, when trying to find out how to do stuff, lots of conflicting blogs, tutorials and documentation. I guess there has been rapid development over the last 2 or 3 years and things have changed a lot, so I’ve taken to checking the dates of community posts, tutorials etc. where possible. I set up an ESP8266 with DS18B20 temp. sensor through mqtt from a standing start, and whilst arduous I did get there, but openHAB2 has been a completely different experience. I’m retired now (yeah, I know - lucky me) so can spend a lot of time on this. Does this go with the territory, or should I take up basket weaving?
Thanks, Totally Confused (aka Nick)

I am not 100% sure what your question ist… but I try it.

openHABian 1.5 is the latest release.
Yes openHAB changed A LOT in the last 2-3 years. Biggest step was from OH 1.X to OH 2.X (in my eyes).

:warning: My experience - My opinion :warning:

I stopped using openHABian, I stopped installing openHAB, Grafana, InfluxDB, node-RED and Mosquitto via apt.

I am running openHAB, InfluxDB, Grafana, node-RED and Mosquitto via Docker.

Don’t start the basket weaving yet, maybe automate it with openHAB :wink:

I also use a lot of ESP8266 (Sonoff mostly) and ESP32 Custom with MQTT.