Logging not working

Hi,

I’m new to OH2 (and OH for that matter) and I’m developing a new binding. For some reason, logging does not seem to work for me. Here’s how I create a logger in my thing handler:

private Logger logger = LoggerFactory.getLogger(HeatSourceHandler.class);

but for some reason, calls to logger.debug(…) and even logger.info(…) don’t produce any output in userdata/openhab.log.

I have verified in the Karaf console, that that the log level is set appropriately. Here’s the excerpt of the output of log:list

Logger                                                 | Level
--------------------------------------------------------------
ROOT                                                   | DEBUG
org.openhab.binding.xyz                                | DEBUG

With xyz being the name of my bundle (sorry for the secrecy - can’t reveal at this time as the company I’m working for has not signed off on me publishing this). I can confirm that the code with the log statement is actually called (System.out.println("…") next to the log statement IS producing output.

Can anyone give me a hint what I’m missing here?

Thanks and cheers,
Georg

Hi Georg,

Welcome at openHAB :slightly_smiling:

don’t produce any output in userdata/openhab.log.

I hope you mean userdata/logs/openhab.log.
But you are right, the log:set command does not influence the logging level of that file - they stick to what is defined in here.
Usually for debugging you simply stay in the console. If you do a log:tail or log:display you should see all your info and debug messages.

Regards,
Kai

1 Like

Thanks for the lighting fast response, Kai. That worked like a charm.