Looking to switch to Linux from Windows laptop

I’ve been running OH2 on a Windows laptop for years. I am certainly more familiar with Windows than Linux, but I feel like I’m missing out on new features, as well as tips and tricks when it comes to support from the community. I tried looking at Raspberry Pi, but one of the things I like about the laptop is that I can move it around to all 20-something of my ZWave devices when I’ve had to do a full re-pairing - this has happened a few times over the years, unfortunately. Since Raspberry Pi isn’t a laptop, I’m not sure I would have the same mobility within the house.

I’m curious how others deal with this problem? Are you able to reliably pair ZWave devices through the ZWave network? This has always been hit or miss for me. Do you get an obscenely long USB cable to stretch out your ZWave antenna? Do you put it on a laptop and move around to the various stations? I have zero experience with Raspberry Pi, but perhaps even just reformatting the Windows laptop with a version of Linux would be a better option for me.

Thanks,
Neil

Your devices are paired to your Z-Wave stick, not your computer. So you should just be able to plug it into an RPi and immediately see them when you install the Z-Wave binding. No re-pairing should be necessary, though I can appreciate why that gives you pause.

The only thing I’ve had trouble with is my Z-Wave doorlock, because secure inclusion is notoriously finicky. For that, I just powered the RPi with a USB power bank so that I could get it within a couple of feet of the door.

What features do you think you’re missing out on? If you’re talking about openHABian, then sure, you can manually install that on a Linux laptop, but it’s certainly easier to download the image to an SD card and then boot the RPi.

For what it’s worth, I knew almost nothing about Linux before I started using openHAB on an RPi. There’s a learning curve, but as you say there are lots of people here to help.