Make Project Home Automation

Hi All,

would like to share as an openHAB Beginner, my Make Project Home Automation.
Documented my learning’s (PDF format).
Thanks to the makers of openHAB and its community.

Objectives
To build a Home Automation solution, running on a Raspberry Pi with openHABian and openHAB2.

As an openHAB Beginner

• The main goal is to learn openHABian & openHAB2.
  • Get a Home Automation solution up & running and extend.
  • There might be better solutions for things shared – but the solution works fine so far.
  • Getting motivated to develop more with openHAB.

Features

• Display temperature & humidity measured in living room, basement & garage.
  • Display weather information obtained from the OpenWeatherMap service.
  • Charts for selective items weather and room temperature & humidity.
  • Control Somfy roller shutters with RTS motors in living room and bed room.
  • Security door & window wireless contact detector
  • Power Consumption metering.
  • MQTT subscribe & publish messages to trigger actions or information.
  • Add more features whilst developing …

Explore How To

• Setup & configure openHABian & openHAB2.
  • Use the RFXCOM RFXtrx USB RF Transceiver (RFXtrx433E) for devices Temperature & Humidity, Wind (test only).
  • Security devices.
  • Use external services, i.e. OpenWeatherMap.
  • Use actions, i.e. MQTT.
  • Create advanced User Interfaces, i.e. HABPanel & Node-RED.

Approach

• Setting up the Raspberry Pi, RFXCOM with connected devices, Somfy roller shutters and other devices. Use the Paper UI for Binding, Things, Channel configuration.
  • Create the Basic UI textual configuration files including rrd4j charts & MQTT.
  • Planned HABPanel & Node-RED (not included in this document)

7 Likes

:+1:
That looks real good.