Mixed configuration with Hue (Text and HABmin)

I’m new to Openhab and have been doing considerable reading over the past few weeks. I had my Hue system working in OH2 with the text files, but I’ve started over using Habmin to set it up this time. Now, provided I use the controls dialog in Paper UI, I have control of my lights, but I also have items configured in my .items file ( for use with the Basic UI) using the new OH2 Hue binding structure ({channel=…}). When I try to control the Hue lights via the Basic UI, I have no luck. The log tells me it cannot find the channel item in question. Do I have to manually create a .things file for the item definitions to work even if Habmin has configured everything already? Do text based “items” require text based “things”? Could it be that Habmin has used a different name (other than bulb1…) for its thing definition (ex: {channel="hue:0210:1:bulb1:color})? If so where would I go to find the new name (I’ve tried a few options to no avail)?

Would be nice to also have a UI which actually builds the text files. Text files are far easier to tweak than a database (which is where I understand Habmin places configuration information).

The channels are listed in the Things section of Habmin.

However, you need to replace the “_” with “:”. My Item mapped to the above channel is:

Switch S_C_Cerberos "Cerberos Power"
    <poweroutlet> (gHistory)
    { zwave="zwave:device:528f7aca:node8:switch_binary" }

It is possible to do almost all of your configuration through text files and the Karaf console, but with certain bindings like Zwave, that is a challenge at this time.

Thanks, I’ve managed to get the Hue bulbs working via the text files doing exactly as you indicated above (replacing the _ with the : in the channel= statement.

{channel=“hue:0210:001788214bd8:2:color”}