Modbus bindings with offset, work or not?

I am totally new to OH, found out about it a week ago or so.

Now, I am representing a system, Smart-House by Carlo Gavazzi, where much automation is done in the controller, functions similar to knx, if you know it better.

A good feature of Smart-House controller is that it is also have modbus TCP or modbus RTU. All functions and I/Os added to the Smart-House system, automatically generates modbusadresses, so from a modbus-master I can access all functions, it’s parameters and physical I/O’s by individual modbus registers.

Why use OpenHab?
Well to have Smart-house talk with other gadgets in the house, like TV, Sonos, weatherservices etc.

I started out to control just one function, a light-function, defined as:

HR 1 0 H0000 UInt16

meaning

Holding Register
ID 1
Adress(dec) 0
Adress(Hex) H0000
Type UInt16

my openhab.cfg:

modbus:tcp.slave1.connection=192.168.100.156:502
modbus:tcp.slave1.type=holding
modbus:tcp.slave1.id=1
modbus:tcp.slave1.start=0
modbus:tcp.slave1.length=1
modbus:tcp.slave1.valuetype=uint16

item:

Switch Ljus_pers_desk		"Pers test1"		{ modbus="slave1:0" }

It works well.

But if I add an item:

Switch Ljus2 		"Pers test2"		{ modbus="slave1:36" }

I’d expect to have info from

HR 1 36 H0024 UInt16

But I get error from the second call:

2016-09-07 16:03:59.458 [INFO ] [runtime.busevents             ] - Ljus_pers_desk state updated to ON
2016-09-07 16:03:59.462 [INFO ] [.b.modbus.internal.ModbusSlave] - ModbusSlave error getting responce from slave

However if I change the .cfg to:
modbus:tcp.slave1.start=36

item Ljus_pers_desk is now reflecting status from register 36

So, back to my question:

Isn’t it supposed to make one connection (base adress like 0), per type and function code, and then use offsets in the .item file to retrieve all objects?