MQTT connectivity help

I can’t write to my Mosquitto MQTT Broker running on my Rpi from openhab also running on my Rpi.
I can pub/sub from command line and from Windows PC runnign mqtt.fx to this broker, but just not from openhab.
(I am pretty new to all this and brand new to mqtt).

I currently have a working ecobee thermostat temperature in openhab with item:
Number DiningRoomTemp "Dining Room Temp [%.1f °F]" <temperature> (jt) { ecobee="<[123456789012#remoteSensors(Dining Room).capability(temperature).value]" }

I would like to relay this temperature to MQTT for use elsewhere.

I first tried creating an MQTT item:
Number MQTToutDiningRoomTemp "MQTTout Dining Room Temp [%.1f °F]" <temperature> (jt,jtmqtt) { mqtt=">[rpiopenhabbroker:house/dining/temperature:state:default]" }
and then a rule to write to it my mqtt.rules:
/*
* This is a multi-line
* comment
*/

// This is a single line comment or a end of line (trailing) comment

// Imports
import org.openhab.core.library.types.*
import org.openhab.core.persistence.*
import org.openhab.model.script.actions.*
import org.joda.time.*

// Global Variables

rule "My MQTT Rules: Relay Diningroom Temp to MQTT"
when
	Item DiningRoomTemp changed
then
	logInfo("INFO","DiningRoomTemp changed, relay to MQTT.")
	var tempDiningRoomTemp = (DiningRoomTemp.state as DecimalType).doubleValue
	postUpdate(MQTToutDiningRoomTemp, tempDiningRoomTemp)
//	sendCommand(MQTToutDiningRoomTemp, tempDiningRoomTemp)
//	publish("rpiopenhabbroker","house/dining/temperature",DiningRoomTemp.state)
	logInfo("INFO","My MQTT Rules: Relay Diningroom Temp to MQTT completed.")
end

I also tried the above sendCommand() and then publish() versions but I’m not getting anything in my mosquitto broker.

I’m also unclear on if i need a “/” in front of my topic house/dining/temperature - it seems most examples have a leading “/” so I tried both ways.

@watou you seem to be the MQTT expert, what am I be missing?
Anyone else have ideas?