MQTT switch how to get two states?

I’m new to MQTT and I am trying to understand how this works :slight_smile:

I am trying to create a Switch item that can be either ON/OFF and that retrieves its state from a mosquitto topic.

So far I have the item as follows:

Switch Motion "Motion [%s]" { mqtt="<[mosquitto:System/Motion:command:ON]" }

From a SSH I tried publishing messages to that topic as follows:

mosquitto_pub -r -t System/Motion -m “ON”

and

mosquitto_pub -r -t System/Motion -m “OFF”

In another SSH I subscribed to that topic with:

mosquitto_sub -v -t ‘System/Motion’

and whenever I change the state from the other SSH I can see the change happening:

System/Motion OFF
System/Motion ON
System/Motion OFF

But in OH2 I never see the OFF state, it always shows ON!

I also tried and create an outbound switch to try and publish from OH as follows:

Switch mySwitch { mqtt=">[mosquitto:System/Motion:command:ON:1],>[mosquitto:System/Motion:command:OFF:0]" }

I tried using it in a HABPanel and I see the item being changed in OH but it never gets to the topic itself.

What I am I doing wrong? :tired_face:

I made some progress and now I can write to the topic from mySwitch but not read it :disappointed:

Modified item:

Switch mySwitch { mqtt=">[mosquitto:System/Motion:command:ON:ON],>[mosquitto:System/Motion:command:OFF:OFF]" }

I figured it out, the item that is reading has to contain both states like:

Switch Motion "Motion [%s]" { mqtt="<[mosquitto:System/Motion:command:ON:ON],<[mosquitto:System/Motion:command:OFF:OFF]" }

Yay!

Good to hear that you got it to work, although I am a bit surprised as your item-string seems a bit weird.

In my MQTT setup I use a more generic item configuration, and this works well:

Switch Motion "Motion [%s]" { mqtt=">[mosquitto:System/Motion:command:*:default], <[mosquitto:System/Motion:state:default" }