MQTT updating 2 items

I have an ESP8266 reading temperature and voltage and trying to publish both to OpenHAB2.2 items.

These are the ESP relevant defines:

#define temperature_topic "sensor/temperature"
#define voltage_topic "sensor/voltage"

and the 2 publish commands:

client.publish(temperature_topic, String(temp).c_str(), true);
client.publish(voltage_topic, String(vdd).c_str(), true);

I defined 2 items:

Number WiFiTemperatureSensor "Temperature [%.2f °C]" {mqtt="<[mosquitto:sensor/temperature:state:default]"}
Number WiFiVoltage "Voltage [%.2f V]" {mqtt="<[mosquitto:sensor/voltage:state:default]"}

now I am struggling to figure why only the Temperature item is being updated.
If I comment out the first publish for temperature, i get the voltage published successfully.
I am new to this so I may be missing some obvious system misunderstanding.
What am I doing wrong?

This could be a long shot, but have you tried to have a short pause between publishing values from 8266?

I already have some pause. Here is the complete loop function:

float temp = sensors.getTempCByIndex(0);
  Serial.println(temp); 
  if (!client.connected()) {
    reconnect();
  }
  delay(50);
  client.publish(temperature_topic, String(temp).c_str(), true);

float vdd = ESP.getVcc() / 1000.0;
  Serial.print("Vdd: ");
  Serial.println(vdd);
    reconnect();
  }
  delay(50);
  client.publish(voltage_topic, String(vdd).c_str(), true);

Serial.println("Goint to Sleep!");
  ESP.deepSleep(deepSleep);

hmmmm, have you set the log level of the MQTT binding to TRACE in Karaf to see if you get any more information?

Is this the correct command?

log:set TRACE org.openhab.binding.mqtt

It seems right, and then log:tail to see “real” time what is happening when publishing messages

The log shows nothing about mqtt and the voltage being updated.
Only the temperature.

12:51:15.873 [INFO ] [smarthome.event.ItemStateChangedEvent] - WiFiTemperatureSensor changed from 21.00 to 21.50