Mqtt2 Configuration w/ Docker

I’m jumping into the deep end. I’m trying Docker for the very first time and openHAB is my test bed. I’m also going to set up mqtt2 for the first time.

I’ve been using openHAB for about 18 months. My production environment is openHABian on a Raspberry Pi. I’m using mqtt1. I specified my devices using .items files exclusively.

I followed the openHAB Docker installation guide. I set up /opt/openhab for conf & usedata.

I’m using mosquitto as my broker (it’s what I’ve become familiar with) so I can set up TLS down the road.

I used PaperUI to specify my broker Thing, added a MQTT Generic Thing with a switch channel, and linked an Item to the channel.

For a Docker openHAB deployment, what’s the recommended practice - PaperUI or configuration files (.things/.items)? Or is it just personal preference? My preference has been to use configuration files. I’ve just found it easier to make updates through VSC, particularly bulk updates. In either case, I’m assuming since both conf and usedata are external mount points, that they survive container updates. Yes?

With mqtt1 I set up my Items definitions so that I could publish to them by using sendCommand. Is this still an option with mqtt2 or do I need to use mqttActions?

Regards.

Mike

It’s just the same as any other openHAB installation method. It’s all the good of openHAB but running in a container. If you like file based configuration just use that. :slight_smile:

Yes if you mount the directories from the host into the container these files survive updates and complete removal of the container instance.

I haven’t used mqtt2 myself yet, so I can’t answer that question. :wink: