MQTT2 setup / Help

• Platform information:

• Hardware: RPI Zero
      Release = Raspbian GNU/Linux 10 (buster)
      Kernel = Linux 4.19.75+
      Platform = Raspberry Pi Zero W Rev 1.1
  • openHAB 2.5.1-2 (Release Build)

• Issue of the topic:
    I have spent the last day trying to get my GPIO relay to work via MQTT. I have MQTT running and can see it via MQTT Explorer but I am having one hell of a time getting it configured in OpenHab. I tried following this YouTube tutorial https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xi5kDoM7hF8&t=7s and failed.

I can get my 4-channel relay to fire correctly with one of the scripts he uses but I cannot seem to make his python script work with my MQTT setup. I cannot locate my MQTT config files either.

So what have I done up to this point?

Installed Openhabian.

I am using the following script to pass things between python and the GPIO and MQTT. I am completely new with working with MQTT here so please correct me if I’m making this more complicated than it is. The following script is NOT mine.

mqttrelay.py

/usr/bin/env/python

import os
  import paho.mqtt.client as mqtt
  from time import sleep
  import time
  import RPi.GPIO as GPIO

GPIO.setmode(GPIO.BCM)

SleepTimeL = 0.2

pinList = [18,23,24,25]

for i in pinList:
    GPIO.setup(i, GPIO.OUT)
    GPIO.output(i, GPIO.HIGH)

# The callback for when the client receives a CONNACK response from the server.
 def main():
 def on_connect(client, userdata, flags, rc):
    client.subscribe("/home//#")
def on_message(client, userdata, msg):
    if msg.topic == "/home/test/1" :
            if msg.payload == "ON" :
                    GPIO.output(18, GPIO.LOW)
                    time.sleep(SleepTimeL);
                    #print "Outlet 1 ON"
            if msg.payload == "OFF" :
                    GPIO.output(18, GPIO.HIGH)
                    time.sleep(SleepTimeL);
                    #print "Outlet 1 OFF"
    if msg.topic == "/home/test/2" :
            if msg.payload == "ON" :