MQTT2, Things, Channels, Items

I’m belatedly migrating from MQTTv1 to MQTTv2. I may be being thick but I’m struggling to know the difference between a Channel and an Item,
I created a Thing in PaperUI, I then add Chennels to the Thing. As I have rules which refer to Items previously created I then cut and paste the Channel ID into the Item description.
I then end up with 2 ‘Items’ in PaperUI in the Control section one the Channel created in PaperUI and the other the Item created in my items file.
It looks like I only need an Item because I can’t give the Channel a suitable name when I create the Channel. There appears to be no documentation on how to create an Item from the original Thing for the device instead of adding the Channels so it looks like I need both channels and Items.
I have no objection to the duplication of the Channels and Items but I started programming Commodore PETs with 64k of RAM and still don’t like wasting memory unnecessarily.
Am I misunderstanding the concepts?

It might be worth while to re-review the concepts sections of the docs. At a high level:

Things represent the device. Each piece of information (i.e. actuators and sensors) are represented by a Channel. Channels are linked to Item. Everything else in openHAB uses Items.

The abstraction between Thing and Item is there for a reason and it’s deliberate. So you do in fact need to have both the Channel and the Item.

There is an OH2 system option ‘Simple Mode’ which (un)helpfully auto-creates Items when channels appear. They come with long names etc.
Simple Mode seemed like a good idea, but invariably becomes a nuisance when you progress beyond novice e.g. when manually creating Things. It’s certainly no help if you are trying to fit to existing rules.
Turn that mode off!

1 Like