[SOLVED] Multiple instances of Openhab

Hi
I am new with openhab. I want to implement an architecture for automation of a building consisting of some rooms. In each room there is a rapsberry pi with LCD touchscreen running an instance of openhab on it. All of these rasperry pis are connected to a central server running another instance of openhab. The server should check the status of each room periodically and there are some other feature for this architecture, for example the server can stream video to each raspberry pi, so there should be some kind of connection protocol between these instances. Is it possible to do this with openhab? Is there any tutorial to do a similar job with openhab?

1 Like

You may find an idea here:

Continuing the discussion from Connecting distributed openhab instances:

1 Like

I have separate instances of openHAB communicating via an MQTT broker. “Satellite” instances use the MQTT event bus binding to publish state changes and subscribe to commands. The “master” instance uses the MQTT item binding to selectively subscribe to items of interest from the satellites, and selectively publish commands to the topics that the satellites have subscribed to to receive commands. I’ve found it very reliable.

3 Likes

Interested to hear what your use-case is for this architecture @watou?

I have multiple properties, but I prefer to connect (UI, rules) to the master openHAB instance and control the others from there. For example, it’s cool to turn on a device thousands of miles away by sending a command to an item in the local master instance, which publishes it to the MQTT broker, which the satellite instance subscribes to, and the distant Z-Wave network responds immediately. As long as the satellites can connect to the common broker, it has been solid.

1 Like

Very nice indeed.