Multiple Users

I am new to OpenHAB. Currently I am looking for an automation platform for our smart office project. OpenHAB seems interesting to me. However, in order for my project to work, I need it to support multiple users configuration, i.e. different users will have different access to the “things” in the office. And also I should be able to configure automation rules based on different users login/detection.

For example, user A walks into the office and his/her office light and the aircon will be turned on. If user B walks into the office, his/her table lamp will be turned on.

Is this user based framework already available in OpenHAB? Or someone has started working on it already? If not, what will be a best way to implement this?

Thanks.

1 Like

There is no built in way to give fine grained access to different things based on user. You can have multiple users but they all have the same access to everything.

There is no way to determine who is logged in.

I’ve thought a little bit on this and without massive work changing OH itself, I would set up a reverse proxy which handles the logins and forwards to a custom sitemap that only has the things that user can control on it.

i want coding for user level authentication and which language and tools will i use ? thank you.

If you want to use a reverse proxy see ngnix or apache programs. If you want to add something to OH itself, head on over the Eclipse SmartHome project as that is likely where the changes would need to take place.

Something new within the last 12 month about this topic?
I need different users witch have different access to the “things” as well

No change.

Follow these issues on Eclipse Smarthome to keep up to date with any progress.

It’s so sad that openhab is lacking of this feature.
Will the administrators add it in near future?

Why don’t you create a habpanel locally on a specific device, giving access to items that is not given to the habpanel or sitemap hosted on the OH server?