My.openhab not working

Hi there,

I’m a newbie to all this, so please pardon in case I’ve made some stupid mistake :).

I have installed my.openhab on my home server and accessing it via the iOS and android application when having Wifi enabled is working just fine.
However, when trying to access it remotely via my.openhab, I’m always receiving some “Error - Request timed out” message instead of the frontend. It had been working before, so I have absolutely no clue what might be the problem right now.
What has never been working though is lining up the items in my.openhab. When setting up openhab, I’ve had the default persistence set to mysql in openhab.cfg and have also placed a mysql.persist in the persistence folder. After realizing my items weren’t shown after logging into my.openhab, I’ve moved the mysql.persistence out of the persistence configurations folder and only kept the myopenhab.persist in there. I’ve also switched back the default persistence to rrd4j in openhab.cfg. I’ve not had any success though as my items are still not shown after logging into my.openhab - regardless of if I’m trying to access them via IFTTT or logging into my.openhab on my laptop - Nothing.
security:option=EXTERNAL in openhab.cfg is still set. I’ve used “https://my.openhab.org” as remote address in the iOS openhab application and entered username and password correctly - I’m sure about that as this login data is also working well when accessing via the website. I also have some items defined already and (as written above) I can access them when Wifi is activated via the openhab app - It just doesn’t work from remote and my items aren’t shown when logging in on the website.

Do some of you guys happen to have any idea what to look into in order to get this solved?

Any help would be really appreciated as I’d like to check out IFTTT with openhab and would therefore really like to have this working. in case you need any more information from my end, please let me know.