My rule works, but i dont know why

I have a rule that turns a light off 5 minutes after it is turned on. The rule works but I cannot get my head round why it works

var Timer md1Timer = null
val int timeoutMinutes = 5  // choose an appropriate value

rule "Downstairs Toilet"
when
    Item DownstairsToilet changed from OFF to ON
then
        md1Timer = createTimer(now.plusMinutes(timeoutMinutes ), [|
        DownstairsToilet.sendCommand(OFF)
        md1Timer = null
        ])

end

I am no programmer (well not on PHP, JAVA etc) Looking at the rule, it looks like to me that the rule runs when the light changes from OFF to ON, looking at the code I would think that a timer is created, then the light turns off straight away, as there inst any conditional code around the OFF command.

The rule does run when the light changes from OFF to ON, it immediatly starts a timer for “now in timeout (5) minutes”, that runs the code supplied with the creation of the timer - turning the light off again.

EDIT: To clarify, the part within the square brackets in the createTimer() function, supplied as second argument, is a “lambda function”. It’s a quick way of supplying a function without explicitly writing a separate function, just passing it as an argument to the timer just being created. (OK, did that clarify or just obscure what’s happening even more? :blush: )

Maybe some formatting makes it easier to see:

md1Timer = createTimer(
    now.plusMinutes(timeoutMinutes ),
    [| DownstairsToilet.sendCommand(OFF)
       md1Timer = null
    ]
)

The first argument to createTimer is the time when it will be fired, the second argument is the code to be executed.

Cheers,
Alex

One way to look at it is -
createTimer ( when to do , what to do )

The what-to-do part can be several lines of code, which obscures the essential nature of createTimer() and its two parameters

Thanks guys that does explain it a lot better (even though i am finding it difficult to get my head round)