Need help!

I’m new to all of this and I’m not understanding the basics…
I want to run openhab2 on my windows 10 pc and start with the MYQ binding if that makes sense. I’ve installed openhab2 and in runs in command window. I can open the web page and I’ve started with paper UI - network device. When I try to install the MyQ binding, nothing shows up in the config. I see posts about manually installing a jar file, however this command:cd /usr/share/openhab2/addons is not working. I’ve opened in SSH, however I get: Command not found: cd

Using username “openhab”.
SSH server: Password authentication
Using keyboard-interactive authentication.
Password:
Send automatic password (Using keyboard-interactive authentication)

__  _____    ____

____ ____ ___ ____ / / / / | / __ )
/ __ / __ / _ / __ / // / /| | / __ |
/ /
/ / // / __/ / / / __ / ___ |/ // /
_/ ./_// /// /// |/_____/
/_/ 2.1.0
- release build -

Hit ‘’ for a list of available commands
and ‘[cmd] --help’ for help on a specific command.
Hit ‘’ or type ‘system:shutdown’ or ‘logout’ to shutdown openHAB.

openhab> cd /usr/openhab2/addons
Command not found: cd
openhab>

Any help would be much appreciated!!!

When you run OH, the openhab> prompt shows up to tell you you’re in the Karaf console.

You can’t do a cd command from the Karaf console. You’ll need to start a new shell window for that.

Okay, I thought I did - using putty to access the menu.

Please pay attention for what operating system the manual or forum posts are about. They mostly deal with a Linux system on a raspberry pi. Windows has a different file structure. There is no /usr/share etc. Open the file explorer, navigate to the install dir and drop the jar file into the addons folder.

Cheers David

I see, so I’ve done that, now I need to run the file? or how do I see the config files in paper UI. Thanks

You can’t “run the file”.

You should read these:
http://docs.openhab.org/installation/index.html
http://docs.openhab.org/tutorials/beginner/

1 Like