[New binding proposal] - Meteoalarm Severe weather alerts feed

Hello,
I am missing meteoalarm service - which is able to display or proceed the severe weather alerts in EU. It is an official, EU webpage, which provides data through RSS or other feeds. https://feeds.meteoalarm.org/
I was using domoticz before and I saw it is also on HomeAssistant too. I am missing this feature, as it was very accurate. I would drive my water tank pump in the garden with this binding.

Is someone able and possible to create such a binding? I can pay with some Chrons/Rovas, which I have from my volunteering in other project, as I am not a programmer…
Thanks,
Michal

1 Like

Especially if you are willing to pay, the best approach is to post a bounty on Introducing BountySource for funded development. But that’s only if no one responds directly to your request as bountysource has some less than good policies.

I think there used to be an old 1.x RSS binding. Until someone steps up to create a binding here you might be able to set up an instance of OH 2 and install and configure the RSS binding to subscribe to the feed. You can then use the Remote openHAB add-on to get the RSS feed items from that OH 2 instance into your OH 3 instance.

It’s not pretty but it can get you by for now.

Currently, there exists two bindings that serves this purpose :

You can also parse RSS feeds using Feed - Bindings | openHAB

I imagine you’re in none of these countries.
I’ll have a look at this feed and will get back to you.

2 Likes

I searched the add-ons list for “RSS” and the “Feed” binding didn’t come up. I figured it was an old and unsupported binding. Glad it’s still around.

Yes, you are right. Nothing new I guess? Will it be available in OH3.2 again?
@glhopital: I am in Slovakia, I know about these non-eu bindings.

Thanks,
Michal

Hi @glhopital