New Binding Questions

I have mentioned that I would like to make sure that there is Insteon support in OH3. This means a 2.x series binding has to exist. I’m a software engineer, and I have Insteon and Java, I should be able to make this happen.

I have gotten the IDE downloaded and working, and used the skeleton to create a new binding - those changes seem to have stabilized, so I’m feeling like it might be possible to continue.

First question:

Is this forum the best place to talk to developers and ask development questions?

I haven’t done work with Java in ages, and never OSGi or even Maven (our Java project was a small part of a big Unix project, and used that project’s Makefiles because unix geeks) and have a lot of learning curve.

I’m reading everything I can find, some of which is even starting to make sense, but I’m sure I’ll need to ask a whole lot of simple stuff. I’d like to know the best places and ways to do that. IRC? Discord? Here? Elsewhere?

Second question:

For Insteon, would it make sense to change the name to insteon instead of insteonplm? If it supports all the same things as the old binding, it should support serial and the hubs, and the deprecated hub binding can be forgotten. I think it would also make migrating clearer, as the names will be different.

Third question:

Insteon is a fairly complicated binding. I’m considering doing a port of a well understood, stable binding first. I’d consider doing the alarmdecoder binding, for several reasons. (A> I have one. B> I want a 2.x binding for it. C> It has similar communication styles, IE Serial, network, or file., D> It’s a lot simpler than Insteon.)

Does doing a simpler binding to get used to the binding environment and OH communication make sense?

Fourth question:

Are there documents I haven’t found yet that describe the differences between a 1.x and 2.x binding, and might help in determining what parts of the old bindings I could reuse?