New Openhabian setup on Raspberry Pi 3 SSH & console access issue

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: Raspberry Pi 3
    • Java Runtime Environment: what ever Openhabian installed
    • openHAB version: latest build
  • Issue of the topic: No SSH or console access

the install appears to have run sucessullly. I can get to the logs at ip:9001 and the default configuration screen at ip:8080. Samba shares work as well.

the issue is that i don’t have SSH or console access using openhabian/openhabian. any suggestions?

For SSH, I have tried terminal on a Mac and Putty on Windows 10.

I am not a linux expert, hence the Pi and Openhabian route.

At any point during the setup or configuration did it ask or did you provide a change in passwords?

According, to the docs that username/password should work if it hasn’t been changed from the defaults.

What is the command you issue from the Mac?

I ran the install headless. and only hooked up a monitor once i couldn’t SSH to the box. so it should have just done the defaults.

the command from terminal on the Mac was ssh openhabian@192.168.200.132

result is connection reset by 192.168.200.132 port 22.

at the console it says login incorrect.

I just ran ssh openhabian@192.168.200.132 -v
and it looks like the connection succeeds but with my mac username

there are a bunch of rsa and dosa cert lines with key_load_public: no such file or directory but it ends with the following

debug1: Local version string SSH-2.0-OpenSSH_7.6
debug1: Remote protocol version 2.0, remote software version OpenSSH_6.7p1 Raspbian-5+deb8u4
debug1: match: OpenSSH_6.7p1 Raspbian-5+deb8u4 pat OpenSSH* compat 0x04000000
debug1: Authenticating to 192.168.200.132:22 as 'openhabian’
debug1: SSH2_MSG_KEXINIT sent
Connection reset by 192.168.200.132 port 22

1 Like

Well, until you can log in on the console ssh is never going to work.