New to MQTT and OH, trouble getting the binding down

Hello, I’m new to openHAB, started with OH2, and new to MQTT. I have mosquitto installed on the same rPi as OH2. I am able to publish readings from a DHT-22 sensor wired to a ESP-12E to the mosquitto server under the topic openhab/humidor/temperature and openhab/humidor/humidity. It publishes about every 3 or 4 minutes, but I want to lower that to hourly for battery operation once I get everything working. Currently I am passing in characters rounded to the nearest whole number. I am unable to view this information from a sitemap homeTest. I have been reading and tweaking with it for hours now and I feel like I am going backwards. Update: I apparently had it working at some point, I went to another computer where I had the sitemap pulled up from a day or two ago and saw both the temperature and humidity. I have no idea what my mqtt.items looked like at the time it was working. I know when I had the page pulled up at first it read no values, so I think I gave up and then the next day started working on it again with my laptop. It takes so much longer for the values to show up in the sitemap compared to when the message shows up on the queue; it has to be over 20 minutes or I would have seen it working when it was working.

Here is output from mosquitto_sub -t “#” -v
openhab/humidor/temperature 67
openhab/humidor/humidity 86

mosquitto_sub -t "openhab/humidor/temperature"
mosquitto_sub -t "openhab/humidor/humidity"

Here are the uncommented plines from mqtt.cfg
mosquitto.url=tcp://localhost:1883
mosquitto.clientId=openhab2

I originally set the mqtt-eventbus.cfg, but realized that my settings were incorrect and that I didn’t think I wanted it set. I commented out my changes and then deleted the config from Karaf. I verified that the mqtt-eventbus.cfg did not show back up after restarting OH2.

openhab> config:property-list
mosquitto.clientId = openhab2
mosquitto.url = tcp://localhost:1883