New to OpenHAB... how to create Items and sitemap

Hi,

I’m completely new to OpenHAB, and I have very little experience with Linux command line.
Recently I bought a Raspberry Pi 3B+ and installed OpenHAB 2.

So far I have managed to install different bindings and all things that were discovered.
Everything I have done was with the Paper UI.

Now I’m trying to find out how to create items from the things I have imported in OpenHAB.
Furthermore I read about sitemaps… are these necessary? Or is it a “just” nice extra to create easy to use overviews to manage every smart device? If really needed, I would like to know how I need to create these sitemaps.

I already found some information in the documentation area, but almost everything I see is command line driven and not with Paper UI… is the command line the only way to create items and sitemaps?

Please let me know… I’m quite enthusiastic about the possibilities of OpenHAB, but right now I feel I’m stuck and I don’t get any further.

If you are referring to textual configuration, yes that’s the only way to create sitemaps! For items you can use Paper UI to create items even automatically after the discovery of things using simple mode for item linking.

I found the simple mode… thanks for that :wink:
However, I cannot see items after that

How can I create rules to work with items?
Also only in text files?

It’s quite unclear to me how I can address all kinds of actions to the smart devices I have…
Seeing the text files, I need to have some programming knowledge it seems?
Or is there some kind of GUI editor that you can use to create rules and actions and stuff?

Ever had a look at HomeBuilder ?

1 Like

For the DSL based rules, yes you need a minimum understanding of OOP languages!