New to rules - allready hit a wall

I’m trying to create a rule which should be run once a day, saving some temperatures to a MySQL database, for further use in other apps.

Rule is as follows:

rule "Temperatur test"
when
	Time cron "0 0 21 * * ?"
then
	NightEconomy?.members.forEach(tStat |
		logInfo("NightEconomy", "Setting " + tStat)
		executeCommandLine("/opt/openhab/scripts/SaveTemp.php name=" + tStat)
	)
end

I get this error:

java.lang.RuntimeException: The name 'tStat' cannot be resolved to an item or type.

If i comment out either logInfo or executeCommandLine everything is fine.
I’m pretty new to Java programming (I’m more into PHP and VB.Net languages)

Anyone to point me in the right direction?

I have not used this construct myself, so I am not sure about this, but it seems that all other examples of “.members.foreach”-constructs that I have seen around the forum is using square-brackets, like this:

NightEconomy?.members.forEach[tStat |
		logInfo("NightEconomy", "Setting " + tStat)
		executeCommandLine("/opt/openhab/scripts/SaveTemp.php name=" + tStat)
	]

It’s worth a try at least.

Have you looked at the MySQL Persistence binding? You don’t need a rule to save the value once a day using that, though if you need the table to look a certain way then it wouldn’t work.

Question, what type of Items are in NightEconomy?

Regardless I think you want your rule to look as follows:

rule "Temperatur test"
when
	Time cron "0 0 21 * * ?"
then
	NightEconomy.members.forEach[tStat |
		logInfo("NightEconomy", "Setting " + tStat.state.toString)
		executeCommandLine("/opt/openhab/scripts/SaveTemp.php name=" + tStat.state.toString)
	]
end

The changes:

• I got rid of the “?”. That causes the rule to skip over the line if NightEconomy is null. Personally I would rather get the error than have it silently skip the line.