Newbie - Garage door notification/control

Hi me newbie,
I have not done anything in the way of home automation until now but I started reading about these new open source solutions and want to try it out. My problem that I need to solve is I’m an electrical contractor working out of my garage and in the morning I load my truck in a rush, pull out of the garage and “always” remember to close the garage door behind me because I’ve got a lot of expensive stuff in there. Then somewhere down the road I try to remember if I closed the thing.

So it would be nice if I could look at my phone (android) and see if the door status is “closed”. And maybe even have the option to close it remotely.

So I was looking at the “GoControl/Linear GD00Z-4 Z-Wave Garage Door Opener Remote Controller”
https://www.amazon.com/GoControl-Linear-GD00Z-4-Z-Wave-Controller/dp/B00M75TEIU

I am trying to find out if this device along with a Raspberry Pi running Openhab, a z-wave USB dongle and some android app will solve this problem.

I can’t seem to figure out if the Gocontrol can give me random readings on the state of the door. It has a tilt sensor but am I to understand correctly that because of battery issues the sensor does low polling and is only in communication when the state changes or something?

I could set an alarm type magnetic reed switch on the door and hook it to what?

I know electrical, alarm system installation and programing, some hobby electronic/arduino and have taken some Linux scripting classes.

Thanks
Marc

That is very likely the case. But the last reading from the sensor will still be around so unless something went wrong (e.g. battery died), whatever the last reported value was will be its current state. You don’t need random readings. OH will retain the last reported value.