Newbie help required on Mios Bindings item generation

I’m new to OpenHab, I’ve successfully installed Openhabian on a Pi3 and am up and running. I’m a vera user so need the Mios bindings. I’ve my Veras entered in the config file and I have the 3 files needed to do item generation from GitHub but where can I run the generation files? I have a Windows PC and the Pi - I figure I have to run them on Linux but how? Despite hours reading about Linux, trawling the community site and trying stuff I can’t figure it. I know this is a really silly question but my whole install is now stalled :frowning:

Hi Mark,

a long time since I´ve did this; and I have my vera retired now - but let´s see if I can be of some help …
While it is possible to do this on windows 10 with the linux subsystem I recommend to do it on a native linux.

At which step do you fail to generate the items? Is it possible to execute ./miosLoad.sh 192.168.1.100? Of course you´ll need your vera IP(s). That should generate a .xml file with some raw data.

With ./miosTransform.sh house you should then be able to transform this raw data to a .items file that you can use as a basis for your config; some manual tweaks are needed if I remember right.

Please check also https://github.com/openhab/openhab1-addons/tree/master/bundles/binding/org.openhab.binding.mios/examples/scripts to check the system pre-requisits:

• bash
  • curl
  • xsltproc

As said - a long time ago I did this; in worst case the new vera units are not compatible anymore. Please provice some more details where you have problems and what error messages you get.

with kind regards,
Patrik

Really appreciate a response Patrick - I’ve put the necessary files in a share where I log in to the Raspberry, I run the first file and get a command not found error

So then I thought I could use a Linux emulator like Cygwin. I only did a base install so I figure I might be missing components. I get exactly the same error there as well.