Hi Folks,

I’m a noob with openHAB…

I have:

• OpenHab2 running on a RPi3.
  • Mosquitto setup on freenas jail and working
  • OpenHAB working with MiLight
  • OpenHAB is using JSONDB storage
  • I have set up mqtt in OH

Because I am using json storage I don’t have any item or thing files other than that in the jsondb folder.

I want to have a switch which sends an MQTT message but really cannot see how to do this. All examples I see and find use the “normal” (is it the normal?) flat-file item config. Nothing uses json.

I have the mqtt message which works - makes the milight rgb certain value.

Am I wrong in thinking a button should be able to do this? Or is it a rule that I need?
If I am not wrong, how do I put it into the json storage? I’ve tried and it fails to reload…

I’ve tried creating item files but they don’t seem to make a difference. I assume it’s because I am using the json storage…

TIA.

Cheers,
Crispin

This is because the MQTT binding is a 1.x version binding. Only .items files can be used with 1.x version bindings. You cannot bind an Item to a 1.x binding through the JSONDB, KAraf Console, PaperUI, et.

But, when you say you use the JSONDB, do you mean you are editing this file yourself? This file is not intended to be edited manually and you really need to stop OH before editing the JSONDB manually. Otherwise OH may not see your edits and/or may lose your edits when it dumps its memory into the JSONDB on a restart.

I’d have to see the message but without further information, I’d assume you can do this without a Rule. But be careful with your nomenclature. A"button" is a HABPanel widget and it only exists as a concept in HABPanel. For all the other UIs and for Items you have Switches et al. See the docs on Items for the full list.

You don’t. See above. You shouldn’t edit the JSONDB manually except when you are trying to fix a corruption or the like. And you cannot use the JSONDB at all if you are using 1.x version bindings.