Not able to add dependency to a binding

Hi

I am building my first binding, but ran in to some building issues. I am quite new to Java and Maven, so I am probably missing something basic…??

My development environment is set up according to https://www.openhab.org/docs/developer/#setup-the-development-environment, using VSCode as IDE. I am able to create the skeleton using this command “create_openhab_binding_skeleton.cmd” and it compiles fine using “mvn clean install -DskipChecks” within the binding.

But as as soon as I add dependencies like below, it will no longer build.

<dependency>
      <groupId>com.jayway.jsonpath</groupId>
      <artifactId>json-path</artifactId>
      <version>2.4.0</version>
      <scope>compile</scope>
    </dependency> 

The new binding is added to pom.xml (in bundles folder) as a module

<module>org.openhab.binding.met</module>

Anything else I need to do in order to add dependencies?

I am not aloud to upload files so I just add an extract of the build log here.

First applicable warning:
[WARNING] Feature resolution failed for [openhab-binding-met/2.5.7.SNAPSHOT]
Message: Unable to resolve root: missing requirement [root] osgi.identity; osgi.identity=openhab-binding-met; type=karaf.feature; version=2.5.7.SNAPSHOT; filter:="(&(osgi.identity=openhab-binding-met)(type=karaf.feature)(version>=2.5.7.SNAPSHOT))" [caused by: Unable to resolve openhab-binding-met/2.5.7.SNAPSHOT: missing requirement [openhab-binding-met/2.5.7.SNAPSHOT] osgi.identity; osgi.identity=org.openhab.binding.met; type=osgi.bundle; version="[2.5.7.202007181104,2.5.7.202007181104]"; resolution:=mandatory [caused by: Unable to resolve org.openhab.binding.met/2.5.7.202007181104: missing requirement [org.openhab.binding.met/2.5.7.202007181104] osgi.wiring.package; filter:="(osgi.wiring.package=com.fasterxml.jackson.core)"]]
Repositories: {
file:C:\Users\oyste\Development\openhab-addons\bundles\org.openhab.binding.met\target/feature/feature.xml